No Skinny Genes Here!

So you know those people that have high metabolism? They eat all kinds of stuff (i.e. bad for you foods) and don’t gain a pound? The people that don’t exercise at all but are still skinny? Unfortunately for me I am not one of those people! I am not the girl that eats what I want and goes to the gym a few times here and there and does light workouts. If I let up on my nurtition, what I eat starts to show up on my body. My workouts suffer big time. My strength goes downhill and cardio is a struggle. Not the kind of struggle when you are challenging yourself. I am talking struggling because I have put so much junk in my body that I don’t get the fuel I need for my workouts.

Well, actually it is not so unfortunate. It’s not so bad to eat clean. Don’t get me wrong, I have 1-2 treat meals per week (let’s be honest… if the feedback I get from my coach says I can have 1-2 treat meals for that week, you can bet I am going to go with 2. Just keeping it real!) and I look forward to those meals (notice I said meals and not days). However after I finish I always say it was so good going down but I don’t feel so good physically after the fact. When you eat clean your body gets used to the good food that you are fueling it with and your body runs so much better and more efficiently. Did you know 80% of your body comes from nutrition (thanks Tosca Reno for this super tidbit of information!)? The saying “abs are made in the kitchen” is no lie! Do you have to eat perfect 100% of the time? No way, that is a sure way to set yourself up for failure. A treat meal is good to satisfy your cravings and to change things up for your body.

So, I’ll take my metabolism as it is. I get my high metabolism by eating healthy foods and killing my workouts in the gym!

If you are wondering what clean eating is I recommend reading Tosca Reno’s The Eat Clean Diet. No, it is not a diet but a different style of eating.

Leave a Reply

