Confession Time!

So, remember how I said last week that on vacation I let it all go and completely enjoyed myself?  Well, what I didn’t tell you was that when I got on the scale last Sunday I was up 9 pounds!  I know, everything you read says not to get on the scale but I did and it pretty much affected my week…

I figured I would gain weight while we were gone and I had expected to lose what I gained the first week we were home.  It hasn’t really happened that way.  I went to the gym Monday and did legs and HIIT (high intensity interval training) and I thought I was going to die.  My legs felt like Jell-O, they were so wobbly.  My body had to burn off all those alcoholic drinks before I could get back to burning the fat (if you are a heavy drinker and aren’t seeing results in the gym, cut the alcohol).  Suddenly I lost my taste for those fruity drinks I had enjoyed!  As the week went on my workouts got back to normal (big thanks to the music I had pumping and getting me through, something about Pitbull makes me push myself harder!).

On Thursday (my normal weekly weigh day) I got back on the scale and I was only down 1.5 pounds even though I was sticking to my nutrition plan.  Talk about frustrating!!  I had a major pity party.  Basically I was right back where I was before I did my cleanse.  I knew doing the cleanse that I would probably put back some if not all that I lost.  Looking back, I wish I had waited to do the cleanse after vacation because the gain would more than likely have been gradual and not so in your face like I experienced.

All in all, I really didn’t gain that much weight on vacation when you factor in the cleanse.  I can honestly say looking at myself today that I am happy with everything except my stomach.  I want that elusive tight tummy that is so hard to me to get (hey, we all have a problem area!).  So my goal this summer is to work towards visible abs and not get so caught up in what the scale says!

My vacation experiment taught me that in order to get and maintain the physique that I want, I have to work hard for it (if you haven’t read my “Extreme” post, it will explain my journey and struggles).  To me that means sticking to my nutrition plan (yes, it does include treat meals) and hitting my workouts hard.  Do I regret what I did on vacation?  No.  I wanted and needed a week off from it all and that is exactly what I did.  It’s once a year, I can and will get over it just to do it all again next year.  It’s all about balancing life!

 

Leave a Reply

