Another year older… a little wiser

This weekend I celebrated my 36th birthday!  I know women aren’t supposed to tell their age but I am proud of it!  I am healthier and in better shape now that I was in my 20’s before marriage and kids!  I was thinking of the things I have learned this past year and some things I want to work on for this year.

  • Be happy!  I admit that I can be a negative person and I am committed to changing that.  As my boys grow I see the things I do coming out in them (the good and the bad).  I am trying to focus on the positive and ignore the negative.  It doesn’t matter what other people think.  I can only do what I think is best for me and my family.
  • Along those same lines I have “cleaned out” the pages that I follow on Facebook.  I love the fitness world and following those that are successful but I am realizing that they don’t always paint the whole picture.  Looking at the pictures that most of the women post are unrealistic.  The pictures that are posted are ones that they have dieted down for but they make it out like they look like that all the time.  They don’t.  I now try to follow people who keep it real and write about their struggles as well as their successes.
  • I’m working on finding my balance more.  Yes, I can be extreme (I wrote a post about it a few months ago) but I also know I don’t have to be perfect all the time.  If I want to have a drink with my husband on the deck while listening to music and watching the boys play and it’s not a treat meal, oh well!  I can sweat it out the next day at the gym.
  • Listen to my body!  This past year I struggled with back pain and instead of listening to my body and slowing down or stopping when I needed to I pushed through.  I felt like if I didn’t work out I would be perceived as a quitter or slacker.  It will be okay if I miss a workout so I can rest and not end up making things worse.

This year I am going to continue on my journey of living a healthy lifestyle.  I want to continue show others that you can be a mom and you can be healthy at the same time.  I have goals and dreams that I am continuing to work towards.  Hopefully next year at this time I can write about the goals and dreams that I have come true!

One thought on “Another year older… a little wiser

Leave a Reply

