No Cheating!!

I usually work out by myself but on Friday I worked out with a friend.  My friend has worked out off and on over the years but has a big event coming up later this summer and wants to lose some weight before then.  She is doing the Cathy Savage 60 Day Summer Smack Down (Cathy Savage is who I train through) and she had questions about some of the exercises.  I offered to go to her gym to answer her questions and then after we worked biceps and triceps and did 30 minutes of treadmill HIIT (high intensity interval training).

Once we got the questions out of the way we got started on weights.  I am proud to say that she had good form!  Form is so important when using weights (and machines).  If you do not have good form you could miss the muscle that you are trying to train or even worse bad form can lead to injuries.  As far as amount of weight be sure to lift enough to challenge you.  Going too light can defeat the purpose and going too heavy can lead to bad form and injuries.  You are taking the time out of your day to exercise, get the most bang for your time by using the right amount of weight and good form!

Next was our HIIT on the treadmill.  I didn’t tell her this (but she will know when she reads this!) that I chose the interval plan that I least like to do.  It is really challenging for me… it involves walking, running, mountain climbers, push-ups and hop squats.  I picked this one because I wanted to set a good example for her and I knew that would push me to do my best.  We can all slack off when we think no one is watching but if you know someone is watching you want to go as hard as you can!  Bad thing about working out with someone is if you are trying to “cheat” your way through it, you can get called out on it 🙂

Exercise takes time out of our day that we can probably think of a million other things to do instead.  If you make the effort to go to the gym, why waste it by not giving it 100%?  Another friend commented to me one day how I was so good on my workouts and I follow what my sheet says (I’m old school and print out my workout sheet and carry it around with me).  I told her if I didn’t follow my plan (workouts and nutrition) then I would be wasting my money (on my gym membership and Cathy Savage).  I read the other week that 1 meal won’t make you fat and 1 meal won’t make you skinny.  How true is that?!  Whatever it is you want to get out of your gym time, be sure you give it all you’ve got.  You don’t want to waste your time or money!

Leave a Reply

