Time to Party!!

This past weekend my sister got married!!  It was such a fun time being part of her special day and seeing friends and relatives that we don’t get to see as often as we like!  I took full advantage of the opportunities to let loose and enjoyed myself!  Once Sunday morning came around and all the festivities were over I wasn’t feeling so well…

Having two small children going out is not something I get to do very often.  My husband and I got the chance Friday night and we jumped at it!  My boys were in the wedding so they were at the rehearsal but my husband’s parents watched them while we went to the rehearsal dinner.  When I was talking with my mother-in-law about the logistics of getting the boys to bed (we were in hotel rooms on opposite sides of the property) she offered to let the boys stay in her room.  It’s very rare to have a free babysitter (they aren’t cheap!) especially being out of town so we quickly took her up on her offer!  There was a DJ at the rehearsal dinner so it was more like a party!  After that we went to a shagging club and had a great time!  Let’s just say that even though I wasn’t working out in the gym I got my heart rate going on the dance floor!

The next morning I felt great!  Saturday we spent most of the day getting ready for the big evening.  I had stayed pretty close to plan on my eating (except for the few drinks I had the night before) up to this point.  The wedding was wonderful, my sister look absolutely beautiful!  When my dad first saw her in her dress, he started tearing up and couldn’t talk!  So sweet!  When we got to the reception I was starving and ready to have some fun.  Dinner was great and the cake was delicious!  Once again I had a few drinks and got a cardio workout on the dance floor!

Sunday morning I woke up and felt like I had been hit by a truck!  I was so tired and my stomach was not feeling great.  We had breakfast (buffet in the hotel) and headed home.  I still was not 100% at this point and we decided to get fast food for lunch so we could eat in the car and get home.  It has been so long since I have eaten a fast food burger, fries and a soft drink (I quickly remember why!).  The meal did not help me at all!  I ended up having a protein shake for dinner and going to yoga (I really didn’t have the time to go but knew it would help me feel better).

So this morning I still wasn’t feeling great.  I started thinking back over the weekend and quickly figure out why… I had not been drinking water like I normally do (I try to drink 1 gallon/day), I had not been in the gym since Wednesday morning, I got off track on my eating, I had more alcohol than I normally do on a weekend, I forgot to take my vitamins most of the time and I didn’t sleep great.  I had a lot to do today to get caught up from being gone and had someone coming over mid-morning.  Despite that I got the boys and we headed to the gym anyway.  It’s now towards the end of the day and I feel so much better!!  I have been back to my normal eating, been drinking water and got my blood pumping this morning with some weights and cardio.

We all have weekends like this where we get off track.  The key is to get right back in your routine as soon as you can.  It will help you feel so much better and your body will thank you for it!

My sister's wedding weekend!

Leave a Reply

