Sweet Potato Home Fries

This is one of my favorite recipes!!  I love sweet potato home fries with my breakfast!  It is a slow digesting carbohydrate, super easy to make and satisfies my sweet tooth.  I like to make a big batch of them to freeze and then I heat up my serving each morning in the toaster oven.

Ingredients

Ingredients

I have found that 2 potatoes are just the right amount to fit in the pan I use to brown them in and the baking sheet I bake them on.  Pick potatoes that are long vs. fat.  The really fat/round potatoes are hard to slice.

browning the diced potatoes

browning the diced potatoes

Pre-heat your oven to 425 degrees.  Peel and dice the potatoes and put them in a pan with coconut oil (about 1/2 to 1 tablespoon) on medium-high heat.  Sprinkle cinnamon on the potatoes in the pan.  I am pretty generous with my cinnamon since I really like it.  Brown the potatoes for about 10 minutes, stirring regularly.

ready to bake/put in the freezer

ready to bake/put in the freezer

Once your potatoes are browned a little, put them in the oven to bake for 15-20 minutes to finish cooking them.  I like mine a little crispy so alter your baking time on how you like them.  Take them out of the oven and let them cool on the pan.  Once they are cool put the whole baking sheet in the freezer.  Keeping them on the sheet to freeze will prevent them from clumping together when they freeze.

IMG_4925

frozen in Tupperware for storage

I usually leave mine in the freezer over night and then I put them in a Tupperware bowl back into the freezer.  Each morning I measure out my portion and re-heat them in the toaster oven for 5-6 minutes.  So yummy!!!!

Ingredients

  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1/2 to 1 tbsp. coconut oil
  • cinnamon
Leave a Reply

